
Virginia code 4.1-305 states if you’re under 21: 

• You can’t drink, purchase, or possess 
alcohol.   

• You can’t use a fake ID or someone else’s 
ID. 

• If convicted, you could get a $500 fine and/
or be forced to perform community service. 
You could even lose your driver’s license.  

 
Virginia code 4.3-306 states: 

• It is a Class 1 Misdemeanor to buy or give 
alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. 

• If found guilty, you could lose your driver’s 
license, serve jail time up to a year and pay 
a fine up to $2,500. 

 
Virginia code 18.2-266.1 states: 

• If you are under 21 and caught driving with 
a blood alcohol level of .02 or more, you 
can be charged with DUI.  If you are over 21, 
the legal limit is .08. 

• If found guilty, you could lose your driver’s 
license for a year, be ordered to pay a $500 
fine and/or be required to perform 
community service.  

 
Virginia code 4.1-309 states: 

• No one is allowed to possess or drink 
alcohol on school property. 

 
Virginia code 22.1- 279.3:1 states: 

• If you are caught with alcohol in your 
possession or in your system at school, the 
law says the school staff must report it to 
local law enforcement. You will be charged 
with possession of alcohol. 

Resources 

www.toosmart2start.com 

 

www.yovaso.net 

 

www.sadd.org 

 

www.madd.org 

 

If you have further questions concerning under-

age drinking please contact our Prevention Ser-

vices Unit at (804) 501-4838.  
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“The Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office is 
eager to be working with the Chief's 

initiative to protect our young people and 
simultaneously educate them in better 

decision making.”   
Shannon Taylor, Commonwealth’s 

Attorney 
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For Parents 

Underage Drinking—Information for Parents and Teens 

DRINKING AND DRIVING 
 

The amount of alcohol in a person’s body is 

measured by the weight of the alcohol in a certain 

volume of blood. This is called the blood alcohol 

concentration or BAC. 
 

Alcohol is quickly absorbed and can be measured 

within 30 to 70 minutes  of alcohol consumption.  

 

In 2010, one in five drivers ages 16–19 years 

involved in fatal crashes had a positive BAC.   
 

*Also in 2010, during prom/graduation season (April

-June) 706 youths died in motor vehicle crashes, of 

which 66 percent were alcohol related. 

(*From www.NHTSA.dot.gov) 

 

Information provided in this brochure was found at 

the below web sites: 

www.cdc.gov  

www.nhtsa.dot.gov 

www.abc.virginia.gov 

www.virginiarules.com 

Communicate with teens your ‘no drinking’ rules 

and the consequences for breaking them. Empower 

teens to make their own decisions based on what 

they know is right, not on what their peers might 

think or do. 

 

Tell them to call you immediately if they get into a 

situation they know isn’t safe – no matter what time 

it is and no matter where they are. Assure them 

they will not be in trouble for making that call. 

 

TALK TO THEM.  IT MAKES A DIFFERENCE  

 

Be a good role model. The example you set as a 

responsible adult is one of the most important ways 

you can demonstrate to your children your values 

and ideas about drinking.  Believe it or not, teens 

actually identify their parents as the number one 

influence on whether they drink alcohol or not. 

 

Monitor social media. Know what social media tools 

your children are using.  Young people often discuss 

their activities, to include drinking, on these sites.   

 

Providing alcohol to minors is illegal and 

irresponsible.  According to research,   two-thirds of 

teenagers who drink report getting alcohol from their 

parents or    other adults. A parent hosting a party with 

alcohol for teens – even once – sends a message to  

teens that it’s okay to break the law. 

If you are caught drinking underage or under the 

influence of alcohol while underage, you will be 

charged. 
 

STOP AND THINK BEFORE YOU DRINK! 
Youths who drink alcohol are more likely to      
experience: 
 
• School problems, such 

as more absences and 
poor or failing grades. 

 
• Social problems, such as 

fighting and lack of 
participation in activities. 

 
• Legal problems, such as 

being arrested. 
 
• Unprotected, 

unplanned, and unwanted sexual activity. 
 
• Disruption of normal growth and sexual 

development. 
 
• Alcohol-related car crashes and other 

unintentional physical injuries. 
 
• Changes in brain development that may 

have life-long effects, to include memory 
problems. 

 
• Higher risk for suicide and homicide. 
 
• Abuse of other drugs. 
 
• Death from  alcohol poisoning. 
 
• Young people who start drinking before age 

15 are five times more likely to develop 
alcohol dependence or abuse later in life 
than those who begin drinking at or after 
age 21. 

ZERO TOLERANCE 

In an effort to save the lives and  

preserve the health of our children,  

former Police Chief Douglas A. Middleton and 

Commonwealth’s Attorney Shannon Taylor agreed 

to follow a zero tolerance policy for underage 

drinking.  As a result, the Henrico County Police 

Division will take a zero tolerance approach to its 

under age drinking enforcement efforts. 

 

Persons under the age of 21 using alcohol poses 

serious public health and safety risks. Youths in the 

United States more commonly use and abuse 

alcohol than tobacco and illicit drugs. Alcohol abuse 

is responsible for more than 4,700 deaths annually 

among underage youths. Eleven percent of all 

alcohol consumed in the United States is consumed 

by persons between the ages of 12 to 20. More 

than 90 percent of this alcohol is consumed during 

binge drinking. 
 

The 2011 Youth Risk Behavior Survey revealed that 

among high school students, during the past 30 days: 

• 39% drank some amount of alcohol 

• 22% binge drank 

• 8% drove after drinking alcohol 

• 24% rode with a driver who had been drinking 

alcohol. 
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