Do you know where or when you can
ride your moped or scooter?

Motorized mopeds, scooters, motor
driven cycles, and similar equipment
are alternative transportation methods
that are legally treated the same as
other vehicles on the roadways. These
vehicles also have age and equipment
restrictions.

This brochure will provide you with the
information you need about legal issues
regarding ownership and operation of
these vehicles.

How does Virginia define “motor
driven” cycles?

A motor driven cycle is a vehicle that has
a seat height less than 24 inches and
an engine that displaces less than 150

cubic centimeters.
(§46.2-100 — Code of Virginia)

May I ride a “motor driven” cycle
on the roadway?

No. They are not allowed on the roadway
whatsoever.
(§46.2-911.1 — Code of Virginia)
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Mopeds, Scooters,

and Motor Driven Cycles

Do you know where
or when you can ride
your moped, scooter, or
motor driven cycle?

Report all suspicious activity!
Call the Henrico County
Police Division at

501-5000
or
911—Emergency only

Henrico County
Police Division



Mopeds, Scooters, and Motor Driven Cycles

How does Virginia define
mopeds and scooters?

Any vehicle with not more than three (3)
wheels touching the ground that has a
seat height of at least 24 inches, a
gasoline/electric/hybrid engine that is 50
cubic centimeters or less, and travels at a
speed of no more than 35 mph.
(§46.2-100 — Code of Virginia)

PLEASE NOTE:

Any vehicle that travels more than 35
mph, no matter the size of engine, is
considered a motorcycle and must
comply with all laws related to a
motorcycle (licensing, registration,
inspection, insurance, etc.)

These vehicles, classified as mopeds
(scooters meeting the definition), are
required to ride to the far right lane of
the roadway. They cannot occupy the
middle or left lanes of multi-lane roadways
unless they are preparing to make a
left turn.

(§46.2-905 — Code of Virginia)

Do | have to wear a helmet
or protective eyewear?

Virginia state law requires riders to wear
both a DOT approved motorcycle helmet
and eye protection. If the moped is
equipped with a windscreen or windshield,
then the rider is not required to wear eye
protection, but it is encouraged.
(§46.2-915.2 — Code of Virginia)

Do | need a license to
operate a moped on the roadway?

No, with some exceptions. As long as
your moped maintains the requirements
outlined in the definition, you do not
need a license, unless your license is
suspended/revoked for a DUI/drugs or
as a habitual offender.

If your license is suspended/revoked for
a DUI offense, you are not allowed to
operate any type of vehicle on a public
roadway including mopeds, etc.

Operation of a moped is prohibited on
the interstate.

Do | need a state inspection
for my moped?

No. As long as your moped meets
the requirements of a moped as defined
above, you do not need to have

it inspected.

Do | need state license plates
for my moped?
You must register your moped with
DMV by July 1, 2014. You may order
personalized plates for your moped for
$10 in addition to the registration fee.
For more information or for registration
details, visit: www.dmvnow.com.
(§46.2-613 — Code of Virginia)

What other laws should | be aware of?

e You must be at least 16 years of age
to ride a moped on a public roadway.
(§46.2-914 — Code of Virginia)

e You must carry a government issued
photo identification card that bears
your name and date of birth and
address.

(§46.2-914 — Code of Virginia)

« You are not allowed to wear headphones,
ear buds, etc., while operating on the
public roadway.

(§46.2-1078 — Code of Virginia)

« You will need to make sure your moped
has working headlight and tail/brake
lights.

(§46.2-1015 — Code of Virginia)

e The brakes on your moped must work.
(§46.2-1066 — Code of Virginia)



