Minutes from the work session of the Planning Commission of the County of Henrico held in the Manager's Conference Room, County Administration Building in the Government Center at Parham and Hungary Spring Roads, beginning at 6:00 p.m., April 14, 2022.

Members Present: Mrs. Melissa L. Thornton, Chair (Three Chopt)

Mr. Gregory R. Baka, Vice-Chair (Tuckahoe)

Mr. C. W. Archer, C.P.C. (Fairfield) Mr. Robert H. Witte, Jr. (Brookland) Mr. William M. Mackey, Jr. (Varina)

Mr. R. Joseph Emerson, Jr., AICP, Director of Planning,

Secretary

Also Present:

Ms. Jean M. Moore, Assistant Director of Planning

Mr. Ben Sehl, Senior Principal Planner

Ms. Rosemary D. Deemer, AICP, County Planner

The Commission convened a work session in the Manager's Conference Room at 6:03 p.m.

Mrs. Thornton called the work session to order, then turned the meeting over to the Secretary of the Planning Commission, Mr. Joe Emerson, Director of Planning.

Mr. Emerson introduced the next installment in a series of recurring work sessions to be held over the next two years regarding the update of the 2026 Comprehensive Plan.

Ms. Rosemary Deemer provided a summary of the public input session from March 23, 2022. She thanked the Commissioners for their attendance and mentioned there has been considerable online participation following the workshop. Based on a local stakeholder's group request, the original deadline for comments has been extended from April 6th to April 22nd. This allowed staff time to share links of the presentation and polling exercises with teachers and principals at Henrico County Public Schools. Ms. Deemer reviewed some of the qualitative data received and response trends. Polling comments led to meaningful conversations regarding residents' concerns and thoughts about the future growth of the county. Once polling has concluded, the consultants will prepare a summary report of the findings. Additional information, such as responses by age or magisterial district, will also be available.

The Commission recessed its meeting at 6:49 p.m.

Mrs. Meliasa L. Thornton, Chairperson

Mr. D. Joseph Emerson, Secretary

Planning Commission - Work Session