government building icon Official government websites use .gov

A .gov website is only available to official government organizations in the United States.

email icon Email addresses now end with

The address will continue to function and all requests to ‘.us’ for both web and email will be redirected to the new ‘.gov’ address.

lock icon Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Mosquito Biology & Life Cycle

All mosquito species are unique in their own way.  Some species never bite people; instead they prefer birds or amphibians. Certain species prefer to feed during the daytime, while others feed at night. Regardless of their differences, all mosquito species have a similar life cycle that is dependent on water.

There are four stages in the life of a mosquito: egg, larva, pupa and adult.

  • Mosquito eggs are laid so that they hatch in water.
  • A larva emerges from the egg and feeds and grows in the water for about 7-10 days.
  • The larva then turns into a pupa, which is also found in water but does not feed.
  • After about two days, the adult mosquito that has developed inside the pupa will emerge.
  • There are both male and female mosquitoes, but only the female bites because she needs the blood to provide nutrients for her eggs.

    Courtesy of Leon County Mosquito Control
    Courtesy of Leon County Mosquito Control
Google Translate Icon