government building icon Official government websites use .gov

A .gov website is only available to official government organizations in the United States.

email icon Email addresses now end with

The address will continue to function and all requests to ‘.us’ for both web and email will be redirected to the new ‘.gov’ address.

lock icon Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Thornton appointed to Virginia Association of Counties board of directors

Fairfield District Supervisor Frank J. Thornton has been appointed to the Virginia Association of Counties (VACo) board of directors.

FrankThornton.jpgThornton, who has served on the Henrico County Board of Supervisors since 1996, was elected to a two-year term on the VACo board Tuesday at the organization’s 82nd Annual Conference in Bath County.

He is one of three directors for Region 3, which covers Henrico, Charles City, Chesterfield, Hanover and New Kent counties. Tuckahoe District Supervisor Patricia S. O’Bannon had represented Region 3 since 2008. VACo’s bylaws allow directors to serve no more than four consecutive two-year terms.

The VACo board of directors consists of its executive committee and past presidents as well as 24 supervisors representing 13 regions. The number of directors allocated for each region is based on the population.

VACo represents Virginia counties at the state and federal levels and provides a resource network for planning and implementing ideas and technologies.

Google Translate Icon