government building icon Official government websites use .gov

A .gov website is only available to official government organizations in the United States.

email icon Email addresses now end with

The address will continue to function and all requests to ‘.us’ for both web and email will be redirected to the new ‘.gov’ address.

lock icon Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Payment Options

In the event your check or electronic debit is returned unpaid, an additional service charge of $50.00 will be added to your amount due for the processing of the returned item as allowed by the Code of Virginia and the Code of Henrico County.

Electronic Payment Information

Henrico County accepts electronic payments for personal property taxes, real estate taxes, utility bills, parking tickets, false alarm fees, planning fees, building inspection fees, and elevator certificates A service fee is charged for payments through Paymentus and telephone option (see below). Pay online with credit card. (This is a link to Paymentus and opens in a new window).

If you use one of the electronic payment methods, it is important accurate payment information be provided, which includes the correct account number and payment type. Please provide the account number listed on the bill you are paying and indicate whether you are paying a personal property tax bill, a real estate tax bill, a utility bill, or a parking ticket. If an incorrect account number or payment type is provided, the payment may be rejected and you could be subject to additional fees or late payment penalties.

Please allow 2 business days for your payment to reach the County when using this service or 3 business days when a VRW Hold is involved.

There is a nominal fee for using the on-line and telephone options. Here is the fee schedule when using these payment methods.

To pay by telephone, call 1-855-748-6015.

Bill Pay Service Providers

County residents that use their personal computers to make electronic payments directly from their bank account via bill pay service providers should allow sufficient time for your payment to arrive in the County’s bank account on or before midnight of the due date. Consult your bill paying service for their recommended number of days for payments to reach the County. The Code of Virginia, Title 58.1-9(B) requires that:

“When remittance of a tax payment is made by electronic funds transfer, receipt of funds available for withdrawal, in a bank account designated to receive such payments by the person to whom such payment is required to be made, on or before midnight of the day such payment is required to be made without penalty or interest, shall constitute payment as if such payment had been made before the close of business on the last day on which such tax may be paid without penalty or interest.”

Therefore, unless your electronic payment is received in the County’s bank account on or before the tax due date, it is considered late under the Virginia Code and the County is required to add a 10% late payment penalty.

Pay In Person

The County is open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. Debit Card, cash, money order, check and Credit Cards are acceptable forms of payment at the Cashier Counter. The County’s cashier windows are located at:

Western Government Center
4301 East Parham Road

Eastern Government Center
3820 Nine Mile Road

Pay By Drop Box

Checks and money orders can be placed in the 24-hour drop boxes located at the Western and Eastern Government Centers.

Pay By Mail

Mail your payment to the following address:

Personal Property and Real Estate Tax Payment
County of Henrico Tax Processing Center
P. O. Box 105155
Atlanta, Ga 303-5155
Utility Payments
County of Henrico VA – Utility
P.O. Box 105634
Atlanta, Ga 30348-5634
Parking Tickets County of Henrico
P. O. Box 90775
Henrico, Va. 23273-0775
All Other Payment Correspondence County of Henrico
Treasury Division
P.O. Box 90775
Henrico, Va. 23273-0775

Dog License

Henrico County dog tags are issued as permanent tags. The numbered tag received at the time of purchase is kept throughout the life of your dog unless it is lost, stolen or destroyed. When your dog’s rabies vaccine expires you will be paying to renew your permanent numbered tag. The license expiration will run concurrent with the rabies vaccine.

A dog license is required for dogs four months of age or older unless the dog is used as a service dog. Licenses must be obtained no later than 30 days after a dog turns four months old or within 30 days of the expiration date on the license receipt.

Kennel licenses are due on January 1st and no later than January 31st of each year and are paid annually.

Kennel fee for up to 50 dogs – $50.00

1 year or less $10.00

Duplicate tags $1.00

Dangerous dogs are defined in Section 5-30 of the Henrico County Code. Within 45 days of finding that an animal is a dangerous dog, the owner must obtain a dangerous dog registration certificate from the Animal Protection unit of the Division of Police and pay a registration fee. By January 31st of each year, until the dog is deceased, the certificate must be updated and the renewal fee paid.

Dangerous Dog registration $150

Dangerous Dog renewal $85

Dog licenses may be purchased a the Eastern and Western Government Center Cashier’s Offices Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. excluding County holidays.
For more information, please call 804-501-4729.

Landfill Tickets

Tickets to the public use areas at the County’s landfills can be purchased at either Cashier location or at the landfill site. A book of 10 tickets costs $27.00 and a book of 15 tickets costs $40.

Delinquent Tax Collections

The County pursues collection of delinquent taxes and fees by lien (wage and bank), asset seizure, judgement, DMV hold (DMV release fee added), on renewal of State vehicle registration (Virginia Code §46.2-752 (J)) and all other legal means available. All delinquent taxes and fees will be included in the Virginia Debt Set-Off Collection Program and may halt or delay a Virginia Income Tax refund from being issued.

Set-off Debt Program:

The County participates in the Virginia Set-off Debt Program. This program allows the County to withhold payments being made by the Commonwealth of Virginia to citizens that owe delinquent taxes or other debts to the County. Once a debt to the County becomes delinquent the County submits information about the debt to the Commonwealth of Virginia’s Department of Taxation Types of debts that are submitted include personal property taxes, vehicle license fees, utility charges, library fines, real estate taxes, checks returned for insufficient funds, and other miscellaneous fees.

If a debtor’s funds are withheld, the Department of Taxation notifies the debtor of the reason their funds are being withheld and notifies the County of the Set-Off match. The County sends a letter to the debtor explaining the Set-Off Transaction and the amount that will be sent to the County by the state. The letter gives the debtor thirty (30) days to pay the debt, contest the claim in writing, or provide proof that they do not owe the debt. If the County receives no response within thirty (30) days, the claim is finalized and the State forwards the Set-Off funds, less a 4% processing fee, to the County within 45 days. If the debtor contacts the County and provides proof that they do not owe the debt, the claim can be released.

For more information, please call 804-501-4729.

DMV Registration Withholding

The County has an agreement with the Division of Motor Vehicles whereby DMV will refuse to issue or renew any vehicle registration of any taxpayer who owes delinquent personal property tax or vehicle license fees. There is a $25 fee assessed to the taxpayer to release the hold once the delinquent taxes are paid in full. A notice is mailed to the taxpayer of the intent to deny renewal of registration at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of a current vehicle registration.

For more information, please call 804-501-4729.

Parking Tickets

The County of Henrico Police Department issues parking violation citations for improper parking of vehicles in the County. The Treasury Division is responsible for collecting and processing payments for parking tickets. The fine must be paid within five days of issuance of the citation in order to avoid a penalty If the fine and penalty are not paid within 30 days of issuance, a certified letter is sent notifying the owner of the vehicle that a summons will be issued if the fine and penalty are not paid within 10 days. If the fine and penalty are not paid within that 10 day period, a summons is issued for the vehicle owner to appear in Henrico County General District Court. At that time, the matter is turned over to the Court and the owner can no longer pay the fine and penalty through the Treasury Division. The owner of a vehicle may contest the parking violation in Court. To contest a violation, the vehicle owner must appear in person within five calendar days of the issuance of the citation at the Treasury Division with a written request to be certified to the Henrico County General District Court. View/print the parking ticket contest form.

For more information, please call 804-501-4729.

Google Translate Icon